That Blogger Music

Tide Lines

Taking a self-produced, self-released album into the upper reaches of the charts is a big ask at the best of times – let alone for a band in the middle of lockdown who had established a word-of-mouth following largely on the road. Instead, Tide Lines’ Robert Robertson played a ten-day virtual world tour – a series of livestreams dotted on Google Earth, in front of some internationally themed backdrops designed by keyboardist Ross Wilson. Their DIY improvisation helped to prove that their record, ‘Eye of the Storm’, with no record deal or team around them – could travel the world and fly up the charts as it debuted at #12 on the official UK album chart, narrowly missing the Top 10.

Continue reading “Tide Lines”

Radio Aftermath

How did you all meet?

Rob (Burns, Bass and Vocals): I’ve known Chris (Dennett, Vocals and Guitar) for a few years as he was friends with the drummer of the band I was in at the time. He asked me to do some stand in gigs as their then bassist was away on business, and I just never left. Sam and Jack just kind of showed up one day thanks to the wonders of the Internet! and we liked the cut of their gib so they stayed too.

Continue reading “Radio Aftermath”

Virtue In Vain

How did you all meet?

Myself (Hywel) and the guitarist (Emyr) are brothers. Our bassist (Mason) & Drummer (Dan) were in other local bands in south wales. Eventually with line up changes we all came together and are were we are today

Continue reading “Virtue In Vain”

Von Venn – Ghost

With the release of their newest single, titled ‘Ghost’, the Irish indie rock band Von Venn, which Gary Cox fronts, are emerging from the underground of their homeland and landing in the hands of many!

Continue reading “Von Venn – Ghost”

San Olyott

21 year-old singer-songwriter Sam Olyott today shares his debut single ‘Cold Toast’. The song represents an impactful introduction from the Liverpool artist, who is preparing to share much more music throughout the course of 2022.

Continue reading “San Olyott”

Faded Shades

How did you all meet?

Myself (Joe) and Charlie met the day Charlie was born and introduced by our Mother since we are brothers. Then I met Liam many years later on a dodgy website where musicians find each other, we hit it off and joined another band together. Once that band split me & Liam started a new venture under the name Faded Shades, we needed a drummer and after many auditions we gave up and asked Charlie to both learn drums and join the band as the drummer. He accepted and we’ve been going strong ever since! 

Who were your musical influences growing up?

Growing up I have very fond memories of listening to James, Primal Scream, Lou Reed, Rolling Stones and Elvis. That was my parents music and the bedrock on which most of my current musical taste is built from. Later in the mix came Britpop like Oasis, Ocean Colour Scene and all the classic rock tunes from beginning to learn guitar. I still enjoy listening to much of what u grew up with and have been lucky enough to of seen many of the acts live! 

What made you want to be in a band?

I wish I could say it was to be cool and famous but the real reason was I needed more friends! Being in bands and exploring local music scenes exposes you to some of life’s best characters. Now obviously I enjoy being in a band and having the aspirations of being famous, but the most rewarding part is hearing someone listen to your music and find it entertaining or touching in some way. It’s a kind of satisfaction and warmth that is very rare as it feels as though your very soul is being congratulated on a good job. 

What has been your best gig?

We’ve had many! But some of the best have been O2 Academy Islington, Tunbridge Wells Forum and most recently Spice of Life in London for Animal Farm. We have a fantastic following of loyal fans who are always very engaged in our tunes, jumping and hollering and singing along. It’s a great night when we play live.  

Can you tell us a bit about your music?

Yeah sure we have two brand new singles ready to stream right now! Waiting On Tomorrow & Heartache Calling. They are very different tunes to each other, which I believe displays our versatility as a band. We don’t have one sound or one gear we have many and they’re all on display in our back catalog so please go check us out! These newest singles are the first produce of us working alongside Animal Farm Music, the very talented and also funny producer Mat Leppanen was responsible for them sounding so polished and incredible. We are very pleased with the result. 

Describe your music in 3 words.

God like genius 

What makes your band stand out from others?

We’re not like other bands cos we don’t wear socks and Birkenstock sandals and silly beachwear to gigs or have stupid long hair and moustaches. We don’t look off in the distance like we’re considering our carbon footprint or care if the milk is vegan friendly. We just like good times, cold beers and decent tunes. So come have a chat if you’re ever at a gig cos we like a good laugh and are very approachable. Also our music is bloody good and lyrically decent if I do say so myself. We are also not very serious, so take the whole thing with a pitch of salt. We don’t need the cancel brigade knocking. 

What are your plans for the rest of 2022?

More music, more sun, more smiles, more beers, more of all the good stuff basically. It’s the way it’s gotta be, and if your plans look any different to ours then go book a holiday. You’ll live longer. 

If your band had to be remembered for one thing apart from
your music what would you want it to be?

We’d love to be remembered for some crazy conspiracy theory that one of us is actually a robot or in a cult or something. I love the Paul McCartney died in a car accident in 1962 story. Let’s get inventive! 

Any gigs coming up?

Spice of Life – 27th of July – Be there! 

Check out our socials @fadedshadesband#

By Siân Parker

Raven Shelley

I’m Raven Shelley, an alt//indie-folk singer-songwriter. I was born in the UK but grew up in the South of France, coming back to England as a teenager. I lived in Manchester (where I went to uni) for 4 years before escaping to the country for a year. I’m currently in the Peak District, but I’m returning to the city in the Autumn to focus on music. I write honest, lyrically complex and intriguing songs. My first single, ‘Sink in Solitude’ has just been released!

Continue reading “Raven Shelley”

Beth Hartshorne – ‘Fragile Victories’

‘Fragile Victories’ is the latest single by Beth Hartshorne which is available to stream on all music platforms.

Continue reading “Beth Hartshorne – ‘Fragile Victories’”

Nory-J & Elliot Speed – ‘Lucky’

Nory-J is the indie pop pseudonym of former Bath phenomenon Jack Spooner. Band turned solo croc pot, the name has found itself with BBC Radio Bristol, international reviewers and throughout NEXT and Marks and Spencer stores across the UK.

Continue reading “Nory-J & Elliot Speed – ‘Lucky’”

Blog at

Up ↑